The induction process is overseen by a Panel whose statutory responsibilities are:
  • To assure itself that schools understand and are able to meet their responsibilities for monitoring, support, and guidance of the ECT; and
  • To decide, in the light of the Head’s recommendation, whether an ECT has satisfactorily completed the induction period, and to communicate this decision to the ECT, the Head, and the TRA. 


Matthew Burke

Independent Schools Association (ISA)

St Edward’s School, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, GL53 8EY

01242 388555


Jennifer Bray


31 The Esplanade, Rochester, ME1 1QW

07906 224573


Katharine Woodcock

Girls’ School Association (GSA)

Francis Holland School, Ivor Place, London, NW1 6XR

0207 723 0176


Louise Simpson

The Heads’ Conference (HMC)

Exeter School, Victoria Park Road, Exeter, Devon, EX2 4NS

0208 546 5875


Noel Neeson

Independent Association of Preparatory Schools (IAPS)

The Blue Coat School, Somerset Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B17 0HR

0121 410 6800


Francie Healy

The Society of Heads

Bethany School, Goudhurst, Cranbrook, Kent, TN17 1LB

01580 211273


Kim Easton

Local Authority


The Board has oversight of governance and strategic direction for ISTIP. Its members represent the five Heads’ Associations, COBIS and the Panel (through the Chair of Panel). 
There is also an independent financial director. 


Clive Rickart

The Society of Heads

12 The Point, Rockingham Road, Market Harborough, Leicestershire,LE16 7QU

01858 433760

Colin Bell

Council of British International Schools (COBIS)

55-56 Russell Square, Bloomsbury, London, WC1B 4HP

0203 8267190

Sue Hincks

Girls’ Schools Association (GSA)

Suite 105-108, New Walk, Leicester, LE1 7EA

0116 2541619

Stephen Lehec

The Heads’ Conference (HMC)

12 The Point, Rockingham Road, Market Harborough, Leicestershire, LE16 7QU

01858 469 059


Independent Association of Prep Schools (IAPS)

11 Waterloo Place, Leamington Spa, CV32 5LA

01926 887833

Rudolf Eliott Lockhart

Independent Schools Association (ISA)

ISA House, 5-7 Great Chesterford Court, Great Chesterford, Essex, CB10 1PF

01799 523619

Matthew Burke

Panel Representative

Headmaster, St Edward’s School, Cirencester Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham, GL53 8EY

01242 388555

Julie Goodeve

Independent financial director

At Headquarters

The ISTIP officers oversee the day-to-day running and management of induction:

– providing support and advice to schools and ECTs;
– overseeing training;
– ensuring the Teaching Regulation Agency is kept updated with details of ECTs;
– liaising with government bodies on induction matters.

Tamazin Steele

Executive Director


0207 319 9192


Tamazin oversees the overall management of ISTIP and has oversight of its strategic direction. She has worked for ISTIP since 2015; before that, she taught for 15 years in a large secondary school in south west London. Tamazin is co-chair of Governors at a primary school in SW London.


Amy Cooper

Director of Training


0207 319 9191


Amy oversees all aspects of training and support for schools, ECTs, Tutors and Mentors throughout the ECT process. She has worked in schools for over 18 years. Experience in both the maintained and independent sector, she has been a classroom teacher, Head of Year, Head of Academic Department and member of Senior Management Team in the role of Director of Teaching and Learning. Amy is a governor for Teaching and Learning at a Junior School in Surrey.

Helen Dowling

Induction administrator


0207 319 9194


Helen supports ISTIP in delivering a high quality and effective statutory body service to schools. Before joining in January 2023, Helen worked for NTA and has extensive experience of the work of an Appropriate Body and ECT induction.

Elaine Williamson

Finance Manager


0207 319 9193


Elaine managers the day-to-day finances for ISTIP. Before joining in 2022, she worked providing financial support in both the public and private sector. Her last role was as the Bursar of newly formed independent school where her wealth of knowledge regarding finances management was coupled with an understanding for the needs of the education sector.

Support Officers

Julia Burns


Julia taught History in independent day schools before becoming Head of Leicester High School 2003-13, during which time she served as the GSA representative on the ISC teacher induction panel. She delivers training courses for HMCPD and is currently a Governor of an HMC school.

Rob Decamp


Rob taught Geography initially in the maintained sector and then at Millfield School for 35 years. He was a Houseparent, Head of Sixth Form, Director of Studies and, for 15 years, Senior Deputy Head with a role that encompassed all aspects of staff development including the induction of NQTs.

Christina Foord


Christina taught English in a number  of co-ed and single sex  schools alongside a variety of pastoral roles. She was Headmistress of Tormead School in Guildford from 2010-2020 and during her final years  served as the GSA representative on the ISTIP panel.

Janet Limrick


Janet taught Chemistry in independent schools for 30 years. She has been a Housemistress and Director of Studies before being appointed Assistant Head where her role included responsibility for staff CPD, the induction of new teaching staff and regulatory requirements.

Joe Peake


Joe has taught chemistry in three independent schools and was an A level Chief Examiner in the subject. For 21 years he was the Head of St George’s College, Weybridge and at different times, chaired the Society of Heads and the Catholic Independent Schools’ Conference. He is presently a governor of two HMC schools.

Angela Rawlinson


Originally from New Zealand, and with over 35 years of experience in education, Angela has enjoyed being part of the British education system for 26 years. She was Head of Marlborough Primary School in Kensington and Chelsea, and then Head of St Mary’s Prep School in Hampstead. Angela is a trained ISI Inspector, an RE Inspector for the Diocese of Westminster and has been a Governor of a London Prep School.

Diana Rose


A career teacher who spent 15 years in state grammar schools and then became Head of Sixth Form at St Helen’s, Northwood, Deputy Head of Oxford High School and eventually Head of The Royal Masonic School for Girls, retiring in December 2016. She now chairs the Education Committee in two outstanding schools in the sector. A member of the Wolfson Foundation Education Panel for 24 years and a mentor for Causeway Education, she is keen to promote access to excellence for less privileged young people and is also associated with  Holocaust Education projects. She was one of the first generation of women to attend Kings College, Cambridge where she studied History and Social & Political Sciences.